Favorite anonymous blog

I used to (and still do) read a lot of blog posts. But, I remained loyal to only those by authors that I personally know of.

There was only one anonymous blog that I followed regularly: Prem Panicker’s Smoke Signals, and he is not an anonymous blogger!

I tried hard (from my perspective) to follow other blogs, but I just could not. I resigned myself to believing that one of the many reasons is that I want to put a known face to the blogger (I refrain from using the word writer here); Smoke Signals is an exception, since I read it for the excellent views on cricket!

Until … One fine day, I hit upon Litterateuse Gauri’s adorable 42.  Once again: first name – Litterateuse, last name: Gauri. Blog name: (Answer to the Ultimate Question of Life, the Universe, and Everything)

I do not know if Litteratuse gave a lot a thought to authoring a blog and then decided to develop a style, or this is just the way she thinks (I believe writing captures the way a person thinks).

After some thought, I realized that 42 (Litterateuse) is differentiated from every other blog(ger) I tried, by way of two simple features:

  • Impressive writing style. This is clearly a master of words blogging! Every sentence is a joy to read; however, some posts are so cryptic that I have given up reading or understanding them.
  • Perfect length of a post. In general, I take about 20 seconds to decide if I should continue reading any web-post. I have seen some very well-written blogs, but most of the times, the length of their posts is excruciating long (takes more than 10-15 minutes to read and understand) or small like tweets (10-15 seconds)! 42 feels just the right length for me to get me interested and keep me engaged.

I can re-read most posts at 42; it is similar to watching  good movies like Sholay,  His Girl Friday, or Arsenic and Old Lace! No number of repeated watches has reduced my enthusiasm to watch these moves repeatedly!

I envy the way Litterateuse can write; I wish I could write that (or half as) well. Maybe that is why I keep reading 42.  And, in this case, I have always wished that the anonymity of the author remained, else, I have to go back to the drawing table and wonder why I cannot follow anonymous blogs 🙂

2 thoughts on “Favorite anonymous blog

  1. That’s is the nicest thing anyone has ever said about the blog! There have been comments like “you’re so shallow” and “this is not funny”, so all I can say is it’s about what you come looking for and what you take from it. Thanks, Lalit – it does mean a lot.

    • Yes, I agree with what you say.

      Also, different people will have different perspectives on the same thing. Many times, same person with different perspectives at different times!

Leave a Reply

