Diagnoses!

Just thought about writing a few interesting diagnoses that doctors were able to explore on me..

  • Emphysematous bulla: What seems like a complex name started with a simple test. I went to meet my PCP to do an annual physical test; well, my first annual test. After a few X-Rays, the doctor said I had TB, but had doubts. So, more details followed and expert views from a radiologist ended up with this term, “emphysematous bulla.” Now, I don’t smoke (at least until the next time I do) and the main cause seems to be smoking – damn all that secondary smoke that I have inhaled!

    In simple terms, emphysema is the destruction of alveolar walls and subsequent enlargement of air spaces – this also leads to thinning of the alveolar walls. When the space is more than 1 cm, it is called a bullous – hence, emphysematous bulla!

    I was told that some people carry a long needle to pierce into their chest in case of emergencies (when the bulla explodes, air fills into the visceral cavity causing the other organs to collapse under pressure). I could not imagine that someone can do that to one’s own self. Pat came the repl, “you will do it if you have to choose between life and death ;)” He also said, some people avoid jogging, going to hill-stations, etc. Now, I have done all of that in my life and never faced any problems!

  • Restless Leg Syndrome (RLS): This is, probably, the worst thing I have had – because I do really experience the trouble. Basically, it means that I have a very strong urge to move my legs, which I am unable to resist. An excellent website on this topic is http://www.rls.org/ It took several years and several different types of medications including weak sleeping pills for a year and very strong ones for 14 days, until recently when I shifted to the only clinically tested medicine called Requip, which seems to have been helpful!
  • Gilbert’s syndrome: This is just a side-effect, in that it was detected during the several tests for RLS. Essentially, it means that I have excess bilirubin in my blood (under normal circumstances) and in some cases, one might confuse it with mild jaundice!

I remember one of my friends arguing right during an exam in 1995 – “A few means 3,” when we were confused about a question that asked us to give a few examples of something. So, I guess three is enough now, since I wanted to write only about a few.

4 thoughts on “Diagnoses!

  1. I saw this adv. on TV which was talking about medication for RLS and I thought “Oh my GOD, people come up with strange kinds of ailments in the US to get away from boredom”. Looks like NRI’s get afflicted by the same🙂

  2. Well, they have a name for almost everything here! We feel low or down sometimes..they call it mild depression here!! They prefer giving names to all diseases so the pharmaceutical companies can combine some chemicals and say..”we have found a cure” and that’s how they make money. Have you seen the ads on TV for any drug? there are more side effects than any benefits!!!

  3. 😉 But, they have to mention those (any mildest) side effects, right? Else, someone can sue them! When I had blood transfusion last July, I was clearly told that there is a small chance that I can die, for every single pack (bottle) that I took! I took only 3, though, … I think.

Leave a Reply

