Music library? iTunes? Yahoo! Music engine? Songbird?

For quite some time, I have been using iTunes for all my music needs – buying, listening, ripping my CDs. It is literally my big music library.

In the meantime, I tried Yahoo Music engine and Songbird (0.1?). I am impressed with Yahoo music engine and I was impressed with Songbird 0.1 Now, Songbird not yet 0.2 has been released. I did not test it, yet. I am waiting for the version of a software that can do at least the following:

  1. Import all the stuff that I have in iTunes – I have several playlists/smart playlists, etc.
  2. Use the iTunes subnet to listen to other’s music and provide access to others to listen to it.
  3. Directly let me buy from iTunes or Microsoft or Yahoo or Realplayer and play any of my purchased music.

Is this really possible?

technorati tags:, , ,

Blogged with Flock

3 thoughts on “Music library? iTunes? Yahoo! Music engine? Songbird?

  1. I had a horrible experience with Yahoo Music Engine. It totally dragged my system performance down. To start off, I had to make several changes to my internet settings so that it would work. The desktop behaved ok when I ran the music engine, but my laptop could not bear the load. And my laptop isn’t that old — it can run Warcraft III without any problems (it does have less memory though — only 500MB). Surely a music player should need less resources than a high end computer game!

    I had also subscribed to Yahoo Music for a month but was dissapointed with their streaming quality. 50% of the songs got stuck when I played them online. How big are these files? A 4MB song should need 1 second to download on a 100Mbps line (at the University), and about 20 seconds on a 3Mbps line (Comcast at home). Makes me think that yahoo didn’t invest enough to have good upload speeds.

  2. Pingback: Lalit Patil’s blog » How people reach my blog

  3. I just got my 2000t and all of my songs are skipping in iTunes, and I cant figure out why. If someone could help me out and tell me how to fix this I would really appreciate it because its driving me crazy. Thanks for the replys.

Leave a Reply

