Padoge likhoge banoge nawab …

My favorite cricket columnist has a nice article in Hindustan Times, on perhaps, the glamor of cricket.

The gist of his article is in the first paragraph

"Padoge likhoge banoge nawab, kheloge khudoge banoge kharaab” was what most of us were often told while growing up. I think this adage is soon going to be part of an ancient past.

However, I guess, the main point that he makes is at the very end:

But is it worth for a kid from an average middle-class family to take that chance? It’s a tough call. I believe you should chase your dreams. But it’s an unforgiving world. So I suggest, keep a backup handy.

Don’t dismiss that degree.

Definitely, worth a read or may be two!

3 thoughts on “Padoge likhoge banoge nawab …

  1. well, i have posted something on similar lines in my recent post. u know what, i agree though, a degree never hurts! after all, not everybody can be tendulkar, even ganguly has a degree!

  2. Vaidehi,

    I agree with you; somewhere, though, I have mentioned that I think that in India, being educated is probably the easiest or least risky path to a good life… and we usually tend to take that path!

Leave a Reply

